Code 770r for winging?

I’ve been wanting to try a high AR foil for a while now but am yet to desire picking up a paddle again. As such, I’m wondering if anyone has experience winging the Code 770r or something similar?

I’m 87kg and will have two boards to choose from. 5’10”x20” 85l Carver and a 6’6” x18” Aviator 90l

I wing in the Columbia River Gorge 99% of the time and would say swell tends to max out around head high on big days. Average days for me is probably knee to waist high. Small days can get pretty flattish.

Since I have zero experience with a foil like this I’m wondering how the size works in various swell sizes for a rider of my weight. No worries about getting on foil, just wondering if this is going to be a good, or bad choice?

Average wind is probably 20 knots. Low end 10, high end 40.

I wing the ArtPro 1001 a lot. It’s 12 AR and 845 cm so close to the 770r. I’m in the Midwest and our good days are mostly waist high, disorganized wind chop. It squeezes every last bit of energy out of the chop when everything is aligned, but it also outruns it easily.

It’s surprisingly been useful for lighter wind since it is so efficient and not terribly hard to get on foil. Pumps through lulls well.

1 Like

Thanks! Is the turning reasonable for the span since the AR is so high? Or do you feel a little locked in?

It feels locked in compared to the Spitfire 900 7.25 AR and Spitfire 780 6.87 AR, but it’s much closer to those wings than say the PNG 1300.

It is definitely stiffer in roll and looser in pitch compared to the Spitfires which are more balanced between pitch and roll.

I had not considered the pitch factor in a high AR foil yet so thanks for throwing that out there. The roll makes sense though.

I was kind of wondering/hoping it would be nice for light winds too, so thanks for noting that!

If you haven’t, post your question at the Code facebook group. There is a lot of good information there