How has foiling effected your surfing?

I started foiling this year after 30+ years of surfing addictively. Foiling has been a bit like methadone for my surfing addiction. (*With the caveat that I have no first hand experience with methadone or heroin.) (**Additional caveat that my wife would probably say that now I’m just splitting time between two addictions instead of dedicating myself to one.)

For all the foilers here who started as plain vanilla ocean wave surfers, I’m interested to hear how foiling has effected your surfing. How many of you have quit surfing? No longer focus on it? Have more fun surfing now, or less? Hate other surfers more than you used to? Or just feel sorry for them? Harder to ignore how close-minded most surfers are? When do you still surf and why?

I live in NorCal and the waves have been fairly cooking the last few weeks. I’ve been foiling when its small and surfing when its big. In some ways surfing feels easier than it used to - safe, slow, more time to react and be deliberate. But I also don’t feel nearly as invested in it, which means I’m less aggressive in the line-up, which means less waves. I’ve also found my positioning in bigger waves has been thrown off by foiling. All those hours spent seeking the smallest easiest mushiest white water roll ins for foiling make it harder to switch mindsets and put myself behind the peak on an 8’ gun / triple overhead wave with the intent to knife the drop and pack a barrel…kinda feeling like being less obsessed with surfing has made me less inclined to push myself.

I saw the thread on Prone Foil back to Surfing already, so I’m curious about the aspect beyond technique - how you’re feeling about surfing now…

3 Likes

Can not deal with crowds anymore. I don’t even bother with surfing now.

2 Likes