Pumping video analysis , tips/ critique

Any tips / advice is greatly appreciated. I am following the Advance pumping aka how the pros pump thread and its very interesting seeing the different styles. Post your pump videos here for critique hopefully

Been foiling for just under 1 year, working on efficiency. riding a high aspect wing lift 170 HA, 25 glide in very small weak surf. good rides for me are 1min 30 sec + 2-4 waves typically. trying to get to consistently connect 5+ by this summer

1 Like

I’m not a pro by any means….

Outside of your pumping (that’s honestly really hard to see in this video)… i can see your wave. Your wave riding efficiency could be improved. You’re not really ever getting a long break from pumping on your rides. You’re riding either too low on the mast, riding away from the peak (power), or too far in front of the wave face. If you could recover better on the small waves, you could go longer.

3 Likes

kinda hard to see. are you pumping with your legs or core?

1 Like

Agree with what Matt said. Adding to it, having had the 170 HA in the past myself when I also was about 1 year in, one thing that helped me out a lot was a bigger tail. The 25 Glide is built for speed and really only provides stability at higher speeds. Going slower in our small, gutless Florida wind swell, that tail won’t be providing you much stability at all which will make it difficult for you to easily pump and ride higher on the mast. I ended up pairing it mostly with either the old 40 Surf tail or the 32 Glide and found it then to be a much easier / more forgiving ride.