Very short mast for beach breaks?

Hey sorry if this has been covered, new here and couldn’t find anything. I’m pretty new to foiling, I’ve got a unifoil progression 170 with a 75cm mast and I have a problem with bottoming out on sandbars when paddling into a wave. Our waves (I foil the Space coast, mostly cocoa beach) have been great for foiling lately, about thigh/waist high and soft but just punchy enough to catch on a foil. However, at low to low/mid tide, the only time waves are punchy enough to catch, I hit the bottom when paddling into the wave, it goes from about chest deep to waist deep when the wave comes in and I get stuck. Is this a typical issue or am I missing something? Would it make sense to get a 65cm mast? Also can I attach my progression foil to an aluminum mast? The connection looks different in photos and I’ve never seen one in person. Thanks!

I really enjoyed using my 65 cm mast proning last winter in Fla. It opened up lots of small, shallow (user friendly easy) sessions where I normally wouldn’t go out. Of course I’d rather use the longer one if I could, but you can learn to control your height (breaching) and the pump is great. I justified the purchase by using it for getting into dock/pump foiling as well, and have no regrets- especially since that’s all I can do for six months while an injury heals. I think it forces you to learn to ride more efficiently, with the foil closer to the surface

Hi,

I also have a 75 cm mast, and when I was learning to foil on my local beach break, I kept hitting the bottom around low tide and started asking myself the same question as you. However, the more you progress, the quicker you’ll take off, and you’ll touch the bottom less and less. Then, you’ll start carving, riding higher on your mast, and surfing the wave more, and you’ll see that the mast length (within reason) becomes your ally!