Downwind Foil Board Stability?

Purchased one of the new Armstrong DW boards - 7’7" x 21 … I’m hardly a SUP expert, but this thing is really difficult to stand on. On flat water … no issue, but a little chop and just standing up is a struggle.

Could be that I just suck … but I was wondering what other’s are experiencing with the Armstrong and other DW boards in the Barracuda design. Is it just me? Did I purchase the wrong board?

Appreciate any feedback on other boards and or tips.

Just got the sunova aviator DW elite. 6’9’’ x 23’ x 111Liters. Im a pretty proficient foiler. Wing, prone, tow, kite. But I can barely stand on this thing in flat water let alone wind chop. Every time I take two paddle strokes I’m completely turned around. Granted I have very little SUP background. And Iv only had the board for 2 days but this is definitely gonna take some learning!!

1 Like

Try moving the foil back in the boxes and using a bit longer mast. Back in the boxes will help you paddle straight and a longer mast and front wing will help with roll stability

5 Likes

Thanks, I’ll give that a go tomorrow @KDW

First session was like that, circles and couldn’t put the paddle in the water without falling, hopeless to catch waves.

A few flat sessions focussing on sup basics and then a few in clean glassy conditions and then a few choppy onshore and now I can catch waves easily and hardly fall in the worst chop. Initially I thought it would be a longer journey. Some hope.

The most useful thing was learning to brace against the paddle, swishing it forwards and back like a broom. If the paddle left the water then I likely fell. Also bending the knees when you fall backwards instead of the locked knee tree falling.

1 Like