Florida prone foil holiday

Looking to head to Florida for a week prone foil holiday in July. What location in Florida would people recommend for best chance of easy, consistent learning conditions? I’m a beginner to prone foiling so looking for a beginner friendly spot. Will bring wing gear with me too for windy days.

With only one week in July I would be surprised if you got a chance to foil

Is that because the conditions are unreliable that time of year?

1 Like

East coast for sure, the west/gulf coast has much less swell unless there is a storm in the gulf. For that time of year New Smyrna might be better to magnify swell but the coast from Jacksonville down to Sebastian Inlet are good bets. The swell that time of year is very small to flat but at least you won’t need much to foil. There is also a good chance for late afternoon sea breezes for wing foiling. I’d say you have a 50/50 chance of having some good days and at least the water will be warm.

Anywhere south of the cape will be tiny/flat. West coast will be a lake.

New Smyrna to Jax are your best bets (or even better overall for east coast that time of year is Cape Hatteras to Maine but that’s a different zone completely).

There will be essentially no winging north of the cape in July, there will be lightwind (10-15kt) winging south of the Cape but zero surf.

I would recommend Saint Augustine since there is lots to do otherwise and it’s a super interesting place overall, also very good for wife/family.

Otherwise rent a spot at Real in Cape Hatteras and you will get lots of wind and good prone conditions and a great vibe in July, hard to fly to though.