SUP foil advice

I’m building my gear for SUP foiling and I have a Lift mast/tail. My plan is to SUP surf foil in small surf here in Charleston, SC, with a longer term eye toward building my skillset into downwind / runners. I’m a beginner. I’m 6’2 and 180 lbs (appx 75 kg). Our surf is frequently below 7 second periods and weak af.

Any recommendations on a Lift front wing and board? I was thinking the 220 HAX or 180 HAX, and then complementing that with the KT Dragonfly Surf. I know there’s tons of DW folks on here, but anyone that leans more surfy vs DW, I’d really appreciate feedback. Thanks!

My 0.02$ - unless your waves are very TINY you don’t need a huge foil. I’m 175lbs and in anything with power I ride the 150hax or smaller.

I’ve never ridden the 220 but I have the 180, it works very well in 1.5ft bumps for DW.

1 Like

I would connect with some of the FL downwind guys. I’ll be the first do downwind foil in my area of Florida and have been following what they’ve been using on IG. Looks to me that they’re using the progression 200 in sub 20mph winds and the progression 170 in 20-30mph. I’ll see if I can find Matt’s dw video and post it. It’s not lift stuff, but will give you a range. I hear the dragonfly board is outstanding from many, but dings easily

1 Like
1 Like

go long and narrow. Longer than you think and more narrow than you think. If you’re worried about balance, size up in volume not in width. I know you probably won’t listen to me because it just doesn’t seem like the popular choice, but if you’re willing to trust me - I’ve learned the hard way by paying for and moving on from several boards that weren’t the best choice.