Warning to lazy evo cedrus owners

Just had my laziness/ignorance bite me really hard today. I’ve been riding my evolution cedrus mast for a few months with one foil brand only. It came assembled with the adapter and i never took it apart. Today i got a new foil and tried to change adapters. The old adapter was completely stuck. I was eventually able to get it off by attaching a foil and using a rubber mallet against the fuse. It took a solid 45 mins of hammering at close to max force. Turns out one of the guiding stainless pins was full of crystalized salt. I’m very glad my omen foil has a stainless steel fuse. I highly doubt my carbon f-one fuse would have survived. I was also really worried about breaking the foil box of the board i had to mount it to.

Definitely recommend other cedrus owners to grease the adapter pins. They seem more susceptible to this sort of seizing than what i have experienced with salt on regular threaded connections in the past. The cedrus user manual clearly states the gear should be broken down for maintenance so this was a user error, but i figure this warning might be useful for other lazy foilers out there

6 Likes

Yes, strong agree here.

I left my Evo assembled for about a month when I got it and also had a bit of a scare like this. I didnt have to hammer it or anything, I just have to screw my front wing on, step on the base plate, and use the fuse of the wing as a handle to pull it out. But it crystalizes in the adapter M8 holes and the M10 pins. I have started using tefgel on the bolts and also was thinking about putting some oil of some sort on the M10 steel pins. The thing about the adapters is they fit so perfectly that they are very difficult to get out lol.

And yeah this is user error for sure.

1 Like

Good warning…and really for any setup, there’s very little excuse for not taking 3 minutes to break down and rinse after a session. I do this every day. It is not hard.