Wing screw reviews?

I’ve seen a lot of people using the wing screws for adjusting the mast in the water - I assume they don’t create enough drag to be noticeable? Any reviews?

I don’t think I can blame the times I don’t catch waves on them. One thing I will say is that it helps to use tef gel or similar and don’t over tighten. I tend to set it up very lightly then tighten a little after a wave or two. I didn’t do that the first day and they seized up. It was a good thing I had a wrench. OTOH, I’ve been very glad I had them when I’m still learning a setup.

1 Like

I love them. If there is any increase in drag, its pretty minimal. I originally got them to dial in a setup, but now I use them more often than not given my need to easily remove the foil to pack my vehicle. When I’m setting up a new foil, I often move the mast several times during a session while Im in the water.

Can’t say Ive ever had an issue overtightening them, unless my hands are freezing and I can’t get them off. Ive had them loosen slightly during a session, so I usually try to tighten them in the water after 20 mins or so.

I use the Hydrofoil Wingscrews which are great, but pretty expensive. Unifoil has there version and I just saw a small fabricator “Valbo Designs” is launching a slick looking set.

1 Like

I’ve got them for Axis and like them a lot. No issues with drag for winging since you’ve got a power source to get you moving, I try not to use them for prone unless I’m experimenting on a new set up to make paddling back out as easy as possible and reduce drag because I’m not at the point when I can pump back out. I think I notice it dragging a little more but it could just be in my head. If I was good enough to pump back out mostly, I would only use the wing screws because I’d be paddling less, it makes set up and break down so quick!