220lbs, Shortboarded 15years, Naish 1040HA feels hard to turn

Hey people! Im foilbrained and loving it!

3months in on a foiling a 4ft6 freedomboard

Just started getting into pumping on a 1040high aspect Naish. Im still learning the technique but im annoyed at how hard it feels to turn or roll these wings.

Front wing
Naish 1040cm²
Its 98cm wingspan, or 38in.

Tail
Naish 220stab

2 options here:
Im considering choping off 10cm the front wing which makes it close to a 640cm² with 7aspect ratio
Ive been reading about wingspan

Or spending $ for a Naish 640HA. Im mostly surfing waist high, 2-3ft mush or 4ft+. 75cm mast.

Any thoughts on this guys? Before i jist throw more money at it?

Get a flat tail. Those Naish tails are way too stable. Something flat will skate around nice had have a good pivot on the mast.

1 Like

Should I chop the tail? Remove the little tips then?

Totally! That will really loosen it up. just chop it at the point where those tips flip and you’ll be in a whole different world.

Also, moving the foil forward will loosen it up alot. Slam it forward and shim the tail for less lift(Tail angle up)

I find those tips gave alot of rudder in the back, adding sability, forcing you to surf leading the foil with your shoulders in more of a crouched position(to put your shoulders in the lead, you look and initiate turns with your body weight and have to roll the foil with your weight). A flatter tail is going to skate side to side better, allowing you to ride more upright, leading with the foil (you initiate a turn by countersteering the foil to kick it out the side opposit the turn, you start falling towards the turn, the you complete the turn by steering the foil back under you to catch you on the new side)

1 Like

Thanks for all your help on this so far my man.

But do you think it’s still worth it to get a smaller Wing in the front for more agility and less wingspan? Maybe a 840cm

Totally! Gotta keep the stoke alive!