Beginner looking for first foil and board advice

This is my first post, so go easy on me. I’ve spent the last couple months down a bit of a foiling rabbit hole, reading this forum, listening to podcasts and trolling various websites. I was able to take an eFoil lesson and I’m now even more intrigued. I’m ready to make the next step and get some gear.

I’m in Northern California, SF Bay Area. My interest is in prone foiling (maybe downwinding in the future). I’ve been surfing for 30+ years. I ride shorter boards (5’8"[ish] 32[ish]L). I’m 80 kg. We have two local shops selling foils. One sells Axis and the other sells GoFoil and Jimmy Lewis boards. The used market seems a little confusing. I don’t mind buying new. I like the idea of supporting a local shop, but don’t mind ordering online if that seems like a better option. I would ideally like to stick to single brand for awhile and get used to their ecosystem. I understand this is going to be challenging and there is a very steep learning curve.

I have an opportunity to spend a long weekend behind a boat practicing in mid-August if I have gear. So I’m looking to make that happen.

Questions:

Is there any consensus on new set-ups/brands that will help me get to where I’d like be (surfing and pumping)? If you were starting today, what set-up would you start with?

Would getting a board under 40L to aggressive and just lead to frustration?

AXIS. Spitfire 960. Aluminum 19mm mast. Advanced ultrashort. 375p tail.

Don’t think about it any harder. That will have you foiling for the next year.

One of the owners of AXIS is in Bay Area. You’ll probably meet him eventually.

Since prone is your goal a board under 40 is fine.

1 Like

@Hdip thank you for the advice! thoughts on helmet and impact vest when starting?