Beginner with Kujira 980. Thoughts?

Hi everyone,

My current setup is a Kujira 980, 75cm alu mast and 30L JS eagle. Im 84kgs and Ive had 6 session on it so far and i can now pop up and take small flights.

Ive noticed that to power up the foil i need a wave with a decent amount of energy and some shape.

Im wondering if investing in something like a Kujira 1210 front wing would be resonable option for someone at my level. I believe a wing like this would allow me to take advantage of fuller and/or smaller waves and give me more days on the water.

Im also aware im still learning and what ive noticed with the 980 could be changed with a developing technique and more experience foiling!

Would love to hear what you guys think.

1 Like

I had a 1210, I liked it but at the time I had the Uni Hyper 210 as well. The Hyper was super user friendly so the 1210 didn’t get much water time.

If the 980 is your only foil the 1210 would be a good addition as it has way more glide and pump than the 980. But I would go for the 1095 over the 1210, it’s a bit quicker and same glide in my opinion.

1 Like

If you are a beginner go for the 1210 - It’s way easier and user friendly, and can handle less energy waves as you require.
If you want to have something a bit more advanced, with more glide and better rolling go for the 1095, it’s more of an intermediate foil in my view, but you’ll get something to progress more.

The 1210 will give you more range - I’ve seen people that go from 980 to 1095 to cover almost same range of waves too. So, that’s another point for the 1210.

I’m 80kg and have the full Kujira range;
980 is super fun in chest high waves: awesome turning, average pump
1210 is super easy to ride in all conditions: super low stall speed, good pump, good turn
1095 is definitely the trickiest to ride: fast and slippery thru the water
1440 is a full glider. easy to fly on the smallest bumps

4 Likes