Learning to prone foil without lesson or tow?

Context: I live on Cape Hatteras, NC in the United States. I have been surfing for regularly for around 3 years and currently surf 3-4 times a week on average, anytime it’s working and not more than 1-2ft overhead.

I have started to seriously investigate foiling in recent months with the goal of getting more days in the water. Digging into the Progression Project podcast backlog, reading this forum, and watching a lot of how to videos. At this point I’m primarily interested in prone foil surfing, with a longer term goal of being able to do shore runners. At my local, we almost always have at least a little swell in the water, but are plagued by cross or onshore wind more days than not. I’ve been analyzing prone foiling conditions a lot and between surfing the more hollow days, and foiling the others, I think I could get time in the water most days of the year outside major storm events. The island I live on is small so I live close enough to the beach it’s doable to get at least a few mins in the water on most days.

Question: I am looking at budgeting out for a beginner prone foil setup next year with the goal of getting a setup in the ~$1000 range (used of course). Locally, foil lessons are around $400 or more for two hours. I don’t begrudge anyone for making money with a valuable skill. But it is hard for me to justify 40% of my budget for a for a foil, and then have to wait longer to purchase said equipment, for a two hour lesson. Also, I don’t know anyone who has a boat or ski I can tow behind to get time on foil that way. Which I’ve heard can help with the initial learning steps.