Paddle size for DW foiling

I know there has been talk of using larger blades paddles for DW foiling. What is everyone’s take on this. I also hear talk about increased angle of the blade (like QB Ono Ava at 15•), how important is this?

I currently have a fair cheap paddle and am looking to upgrade. What are people using currently? And are you happy/what would you change about it?

Thanks - Vince

Hey Vince, I’m fairly new to SUP DW foiling but have been going back and forth on paddles as well. My two cents…. I have borrowed some really stiff paddles and some pretty big blades. If you are wanting to flatwater pop-up, you’ll need every advantage possible - fast board (long and narrow), big foil, big full carbon paddle. I did 8-9 sessions on flatwater trying to paddle up my 1440 Kujira and was able to get off the water but not fully get liftoff (no matter what paddle I used) and pump around. I went to the gorge though and was able to paddle up in medium-small bumps with my cheap 3-piece carbon shaft paddle. I decided not to try to afford the $500 paddle for now and just try to make up for it by working toward better technique. I have a Kalama style board. Hope this is helpful - I am by no means a pro. 44 yr old, 165#s, foil addict.
Dave

2 Likes

I did the opposite of Dave and quickly bought the Ono Ava 115 and do not regret it. I weigh 210 pounds and can flat water start my GL240 with ease now, still working on my smaller wings with a custom 7’6x20.5. The flex on the paddle I was using was not helpful, one thing I was warned about is if you have shoulder problems it may not be wise to use such a stiff large paddle. I have had some 2.5 mile dw runs where I didn’t get up on foil and my shoulders were definitely sore after those runs. I say get yourself a nice paddle!

3 Likes