Ding on my new Progression 140 :( - How bad is it?

After two weeks of amazing progress with the 140, smashed into a rock yesterday and came out with a ding. It looked pretty chunky and gnarly at first but after sanding back the chunks it doesn’t look terrible but I’m new to the world of foil repairs.

Any tips on what to do here? I searched around the forum and it seems some suggest fixing with epoxy while others say sand it down and leave it.

Everything can be fixed! with that, for the leading edge I would build it up with epoxy with some black pigment. Then carefully wet sand back to shape running a block and paper lengthways along the leading edge. The scratches on the flat bottom of the foil I would fill with just clear coat brushed or dropped in. Then wetsand flat… then when the repair is done hit the whole area with a bit of matt clear coat. After that you can wetsand with 1500 or 2000. My progressions are all lightly wetsanded in the direction of water flow with 2000 grit… not because I think (like all those youtube vids) that it make your foil faster… but because it means you cant see my repairs as much against the standard finish :slight_smile:

You might notice if you sand too far that the carbon of the foil gets lighter in colour. Thats because it all has a mist coat of black on it at the factory. I found that out the hard way. If you can be arsed you can blend in a bit of aerosol black before putting clear coat.

1 Like

If you want the absolute easiest option then there is a carbon filler made with carbon strands… it’s super easy to use and sand/shape. It’s more grey than black after you sand it but you could always dab some paint before clear coat

TechniQ Carbon Pro - Carbon Fibre Black Car Body Filler 250ml (454g) Size Tin with Hardener and Spreader - TechniQ (techniqpro.com)

1 Like

Sand the area with 120 grit and fill with bondo(or total fair epoxy fairing compound if you want to be more fancy). Sand, find the low spots, repeat.