Stick with Armstrong or try out Lift/other brands?

Hi everyone I’m a beginner/intermediate prone and wing foiler. I’m still trying to learn how to pump back out to the line up and link waves without failing down. So far I progressed from Armstrong 1550 then went to a Takuma 1095 (helped me to learn how to glide off of waves and pump a bit back out), but now I have gone back to Armstrong 925 HA since I hate how my takuma front wing will loosen up during my sessions.

My goal right now is to be able to catch a wave, pump back out to the line up, and link a wave for a cycle of 2-3 times while prone foiling.

I have heard good things about lift foils and was interested in getting the 150 HA-X, or should I save my money and stick to Armstrong 925? I currently live on Oahu/Maui, so there’s somewhat of a decent market for used gear.

I personally am a huge fan of the 150HAX for prone waves stomach high and under. What’s your weight? I’m at 200lbs, and the 150HAX was the wing that drastically changed my approach to linking waves. I’ve owned the Lift 200 Surf, 150 Surf, 120HA, and 150HAX. The glide of the 150HAX comes very easily and in NJ it’s my daily driver for prone. For rears, I’ve used 26 Carve, 25 Glide and 32 Glide paired with it. They all have advantages, but if you are looking for a Lift rear wing and are over 180lbs, 32 Glide is great for softer drawn out turns. 26 Carve allows for a tighter turn, but I would consider the fuselage extender paired with it because the Carve comes with a shorter fuse. A longer fuse will help you get out the back a bit easier. My buddy @Maxipadd is in the 150lbs range and he uses the 150HAX for downwind. I don’t downwind yet, but I’ve had my longest shore runner on it at 4 mins. It has a wide range of applications.

3 Likes