Takuma new carbon mast shim

Hello guys,
This is Francisco from Spain.
I’m new in the forum.
I’ve been wingfoiling for around a year now. Can do jibes properly and I was starting to pump with the board and keeping the wing apart.

Recently I bought a new Takuma 85cm carbon mast (2023 version, no tbar) and I use it for wingfoiling with the 980 and 1210 wings.
Before I was using the alu mast (no hd version) and the feeling was completely different.
I use it with a fanatic 75l board and I’m 72kg.
On the alu mast I used to put the mast in the middle of the box and no shimming and I felt that pumping was much easier than now. Now, when I’m getting some speed I feel too much pressure on the front foot and when pumping, the nose of the board tends to go into the water.
Any recommendations on what should I do to have a similar feeling (to Alu Mast) in terms of pumping? I have read about shimming but I’m a completely amateur in that.
Thanks a lot !!

I have been reading in a French forums that with my weight (72kg) is probably a better option to keep using the Alu mast (no hd) or a tbar, but I use the translator and don’t know if I completely understood.
What do you think?
Thanks a lot!!!

The fuse that connects the new masts to the original foils has a noticeable angle on the prong, increasing the angle of attack. I think that was good but they might have overdone it, so I was shimming the plate thick end forward/nose up. Seemed much better with that 1° shim.

1 Like

Thanks a lot!
I’m completely new in shimming.
You are talking about shimming the mast in the base, isn’t it?
Do you recommend to shim the tail as well?
Where can I get those shimming plates?
Thanks a lot!